Skip to content

Rowing and Squatting – Yikes!

July 17, 2009

Last night’s CrossFit workout made me miserable. It seemed so simple: four rounds of 400m runs then 50 air squats. Two different things to do and no barbells required. Well, it may have been simple, but it was one sucky workout for me.

As the last few WODs at CrossFit involved running, and my knees get “tweaked” by the runs, I asked if I could substitute rowing for the 400 meter runs. Lisa, a wonderful woman and coach, said “Sure – make it 500 meters for the rows.” She even gave me the option of not going below parallel with the squats. Did I take her up on that? No! Though let’s just say that some of my squats in the later rounds may have not been at depth.

I did all 200 squats, but never managed to get them done quickly. Three squats here, one squat there, until I got the 50 completed for the round. By the third round for me, most of the other CrossFitters were done. That meant the well-meaning cheering me on…

I hate well-meaning cheering on. Especially when I’m agonizing over how to chip out the squats one at a time. Sometimes the cheers are fine, but last night? I waved the folks off and closed my eyes — anything not to look at the cheering supporters and yell, “Fuck off!” Yeah, I was definitely in pissy mode. I was feeling those squats.

I got through the workout with a not so stellar time of 27:58. Almost everyone else finished up within the 15 to 20 minute range. Did I mention that I’m slow?

Worrying whether the squats funked up my knees, I came home and iced the suckers several times last night. So far, so good. The pain quotient did not increase — it’s maintaining it’s normal level of just letting me know that my knees aren’t perfect.

Here’s the workout on the CrossFit Flagstaff site. Lisa took a picture of me at the bottom of my squat and I’m definitely at parallel or below. I’m just not too upright. I’m leaning into that baby way too much:

It ain't pretty, but it's a squat

It ain't pretty, but it's a squat

Today’s a day off from work and CrossFit, so I’ll do something easy today and then head back for the free, Open class tomorrow. A co-worker may join me, and I’m just praying that it won’t be squat intensive. I’d like to look like I know what I’m doing!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

